Stories that lived

I will never look

At the stars the same,

Or not imagine a story

Taking birth in the

Endless civilizations

Some past,some yet to pass;

I will wait for feelings

Which have alien names

And strange creatures

With familiar feelings

To visit my bookshelf again.

And I will smile

At the paper animals

Prancing in a kids cupboard

And letters from mothers

And fathers choking my

Words, melting on my lips.

I will count on you

And your stories

And I will live

A little more happy.

*****

This is a dedication to the book The Paper Menagerie and other stories by Ken Liu. It is a brilliant collection of his best work and the stories are a world that you want to never step out. The title story won the Science fiction’s top 3 awards – Hugo , Nebula and world fantasy one. Please read the story here and you will see why I loved the book and why this poem.

This poem is written from a prompt given at Toads.

10 thoughts on “Stories that lived

  1. I love the thought of stories that takes into new worlds and shows things we already love dressed in different faces, or new things that makes us sing the tunes that have always made us happiest. Your passion describing your feelings towards the tales brings smiles to my heart. Thank you. I’m adding it to my list. 🙂

Lets get the conversations rolling ..

