Making a blog easy to read

For the blogchatter campaign #MyFriendAlexa , I have been visiting 3-4 blogs daily and sharing the posts on my twitter timeline using hashtag – #PratsBlogHop. I rarely use a laptop these days to read or write and luckily the WordPress app has all the necessary features to blog from mobile only. but reading on mobile is a different game , as it depends on the blog you are reading more than your phone / browser. Here are some of the things that I want others to note for their blog –

Have a light theme – I was told this about 10 years back when I first started blogging. I have a deep love for black background and that is closely followed by wine shades. It was only recently , when I was having trouble reading without glasses I realized that a white theme / light theme makes the page easier to read and you do not have to struggle with varied font colors and image contrasts. It is also easier for people over 50 to read the light pages.

Keep it short – There is a blog post and then there is a longread. If your topic is going beyond 500-700 words , plan to have a series of posts rather than having single post cutting the details short just to fit in the post. This also makes sure that the readers will return to the blog for next post.

Proofread is MUST – spelling and Grammar have to be spot on. One can ignore some typo in the post but there should be a sense of some neatness and clarity in your writing. Please use your spell check buttons before you hit Publish.

Format the Post – This is not only limited to the spelling and grammar but also how it is presented. Keeping headings in bold , using bullet points , using paragraphs for a longer post ; all these make a post more presentable and readable for anyone.

Do not clutter the site – I am aware that we have to / should put links and images to other tags or blogs that we own. some times we also have to promote certain brands and ongoing challenges in the side bar. but it should not overwhelm your post. Specially on a mobile view , the post has to be the first and main section of the blog.

Make the site responsive – Always open your own blog in different browsers and devices to check that your page is showing correctly. I find some blogs too heavy to open on mobile phone. Also , some formatting is lost on phone so make sure that your post looks good even on phone.

These are the things I take care of generally. Is there anything that you find attractive or turn off in a blog ?

I am taking my Alexa Rank to the next level with #MyFriendAlexa via Blogchatter

23 thoughts on “Making a blog easy to read

  1. I like lighter backgrounds and non-cluttered blogs too. It is tempting to flaunt your achievements and affiliations, but one must not let that interfere with the blog reading experience.

  2. subzeroricha says:

    All these points must be placed as a must do for all bloggers. As a reader I am crazy about a light background because a dark background causes strain to eyes ! And yes 500-600 words is an optimum size for a post

  3. Useful common sense points that we often ignore. I think I follow most of these except opening and viewing my blog in different browsers. That’s something I need to get to. Thanks Prats.

  4. I do most of the things which you have mentioned. Even I started with black background and then shifted to white. I playing with classical combination of black and white. First, it black and white but now it is white and black.

  5. Most online reading is done on mobile devices. It’s important to tailor your blog for mobile restrictions.
    Proper formatting is a must as well as white space. I’ve stopped following bloggers with text that runs on and on for paragraphs in one long string without break.

Lets get the conversations rolling ..

