Wait : Story#5 #storywriting

Menka wanted nothing more than him at that point. Him, not physically maybe ,but even his presence in her life would have been enough for her to live another day with a smile. Only if things happened the way we wished. Even when they do, we can not grasp the reason or effect of the event. Menka was surprised to find his email next day. He was getting married. The guy who refused her love for fear of commitment was marrying next week. She was not surprised. She had won the bet after all. she had challenged him on their last meeting to try and stay away from love and relationships. He wanted her to meet once before the wedding, as per Menka’s wish in case he lost the bet. And so they met – he, his fiancee and Menka. He came straight to the point.

“I know what you want to ask”, he said after the waiter had served them coffee. “I chose Monica for all the reasons, I ever loved you for.”, he continued.
“Her name even is similar to mine”, I said, sarcasm dripping from my words.
“Oh, I gave her that name. for the same reasons you said just now.”
“then why not Menka?”
“She is not you.”
“but like me”
“and you did not marry me ’cause?”
“I would not be able to leave you once i accept you as my life partner”
“and you plan to leave her?”
“yes, in about 5-10 years”
“And you are ok with that” , Menka directed this to the lady, who was by that time silently enjoying her coffee.
“Actually its mutual agreement. I just want to be married as long as my current assignment in India. I will settle in some other country later and forever.” she stated the plan casually.

Menka could not think of anything to say. She expected him to have such an approach to life but it was a complete shocker to her to meet a girl having same ideas.

“you did not lose the bet in that case.”Menka finally managed to say.
“I know. but I still wanted you to know of this before I married.”
“And why?”
“To give you hope, I might return to you once i am free of this relation”
“And you think I will wait that long?”
“you have been waiting for 3 years, another 4-5 will not matter to you. Will it ?”

“I some time hate to think I loved you”, Menka said as she left the table, much more upset than she was when she read the email 3 days back.

7 thoughts on “Wait : Story#5 #storywriting

  1. I told you yesterday what I thought of it so will say……

    Love is blind for one who loves and granted for one who is granted….but alas this happens and I know it does…..sigh….

    But one need to draw a line after a point….

  2. I sort of think Menka’s character is very timid/accommodating from the start. While his character is quite the opposite. With such a good balance in a relationship I wouldn’t be surprised if Menka puts up with surprises all life long :)

Comments are closed.