The way I am

 All those years
all i wished most
all the time, was
to be like you
to not feel you
to be another you
not realizing
not understanding
not thinking about
the price on its head
the pain that change gets
the void that now remains
am not me anymore,will never be
am not bothered,but miss it much
am broken not but encaged by own thoughts.


Written for Luna’s Poetry Challenge 

Image Source

And now the poem in spotlight today.  I first read this poem here and am glad i remembered it to share with you :


Phenomenal Woman 

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.

Read the whole poem here

Further I bring for you, one of my favorite poetry since i first read it when i was in school – “The highwayman” . Loreena gives it a whole new haunting feel.

17 thoughts on “The way I am

  1. Absolutely loving the McKennitt video, favorite music, very inspirational! The poem from Maya Angelou I’ve read too, I guess on the same place as you! Your poem is very nice!

  2. awesome! it’s a powerful and dark, yet hopeful poem. And your a mckennitt fan?
    so cool! have you heard her new albulm; The wind that shakes the barley? awesome! :)

  3. The Highwayman is one of the most beautiful poems I’ve read. The other which comes close is The Rime of the Ancient Mariner. But my favorite poems are by Wordsworth. :)

  4. Ahh, another McKennitt fan!!!

    The Way I am — very powerfully expressed! If only we were taught early in life to appreciate our unique treasures and talents that are divinely instilled within us and no one else. It would have saved so many wrong paths and false starts …

Comments are closed.