I am awake

Hands search the slim mobile
only to see it snuggled by my side
open an eye to note the time
yawn and into blanket i dive.

Few minutes later i half awake
much time it usually doesnt take
to switch on the laptop by my bed
oh and also,the texts to be read

A morning tweet,a hello on chat
and then to the mom’s call
a song selected to play in loops
finally out of bed,out of room.

Stand in the balcony,admire the day
smile lazily,as new plans I make.
And then i proceed to kitchen
am not awake yet,not without tea.


Prompted at We write Poems , Also submitted to One Shot Wednesday


18 thoughts on “I am awake

  1. this feels familiar – my iPhone “sleeps” right by my side and first thing in the morning (still in bed) i check emails…kind of crazy…and then get up to have a nice cup of coffee….nice poem… i like

  2. Amazing how technology and social media have became such an integral part of many of our days. Like how you infuse that part of our culture into your poetry. Cheers :)

  3. This sounds like my husbands awakening in the mornings. He doesn’t really hear or see until after his cup or two of coffee. He looks like he’s got it all going on but no, not until the cup of java.

  4. What a cleverly written poem. I too sleep with my smart phone. I usually peek at my texts and emails before getting out of bed and then spend a half our to an hour on my laptop before getting ready for work. :)

  5. hahahah.. this was awesome! Just for an instant, I was under the impression that you were writing this on my behalf!! :)
    Can absolutely relate to this one, Nimue!!! Good Lord!! What would I ever do with my lappie, iPhone and tea?!?!?!? :)

  6. as asked earlier , question is Do you really sleep :P, apart from that Thsi true for most of us. we are so self obsessed with our gadgets :D, . True for most of us crazy for rest :)

  7. One of my typical mornings too, just replace the tea with coffee :), very fine and sweet morning you’ve described.

    Thank you for all your lovely comments at my place, sorry for the late return visits … busy days …

    Regards from Greece!

Comments are closed.