Remembering an angel

Those purple framed glasses,
she wore as a challenge to school,
It was then I saw her first, being scolded,
and thought, her glossy hair looked cool.

The staircase where she sat with her gang,
talking to all who climbed up and down
the bitter whispers from the envious girls
equaled the drooping stare of guys around.

I was her pet doll in her final years
protected, loved and mentored upon
it was a rare privilege people would tell
and i valued her presence as my gourd.

There is no day when i miss her not
or feel her words of caution in my head
And also the one last kiss on my cheeks
just hours before she was found dead.

some say she was killed out of rage
some say she did it on her own,
only I know that neither is the case
she was my angel, she just returned home.

Prompted @ Big Tent Poetry

20 thoughts on “Remembering an angel

  1. i have goosebumps! this is amazing penning! your such a talent! Please consider joining my site Social Muze?!?!? :) You can access it from my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog! :) At least take a peak? :)

  2. Oh, this was a heartbreaker. Didn’t see the end coming, but then, neither did she, right?
    Opaque is right: Angels will always be remembered. We just wish we had them on earth a whole lot longer…

    Thank you for this. Amy Barlow Liberatore

  3. This is a very sad story, but it is also wonderful to have an ‘angel’ looking over you! You definitely made the wordle words into something special.

    1. Gourd is also used as a thick shell as per old chinese practices ! It was a lucky charm sort if i remember correctly . So i guess it suits here .

Comments are closed.